Manage File Transfer Modes

You can use the Transfer Mode Panel to choose how you want your Eyefi card to upload photos & videos. Depending on the kind of Eyefi card you have, you will see either two or three tabs: Selective Transfer, Relayed Transfer, and Endless Memory (only available on X2 cards).

In order to make any changes in the Transfer Mode panel for Selective Transfer or Endless Memory, you will need to plug your Eyefi card into your computer with Eyefi Helper and Eyefi Center running because these transfer mode settings are stored on your Eyefi card in a private partition. Relayed Transfer does not require you to insert your Eyefi card into your computer.

Selective Transfer

There are three options under Selective Transfer:

Automatic

Automatic is the default option that all Eyefi cards are configured with during registration. With this option, all photos & videos on your Eyefi card are automatically uploaded to your designated destinations.

Selective Share

In Selective Share mode, all of your photos & videos are uploaded to your computer destination. Only photos & videos that you select using the Protect key (sometimes referred to as the Lock key) on your camera are automatically uploaded to your designated online sharing site. Please refer to your camera manual to find the protect or lock instructions for your camera make and model.

Selective Transfer

In Selective Transfer mode, only photos & videos that are Protected or Locked are automatically transferred to your designated media destinations. Unprotected photos & videos are not automatically uploaded and will remain on your Eyefi card. To designate photos & videos to transfer, you will need to use the Protect key (sometimes referred to as the Lock key) to protect the files. Please refer to your camera manual to find the protect or lock instructions for your camera make and model.

Note: If you are using Selective Transfer or Selective Share, files in the PRIVATE folder are not transferred.

Relayed Transfer

Relayed Transfer is enabled by default if you are uploading photos or videos to an online sharing site. If you are only uploading photos & videos to a computer destination, the Relayed Transfer option gives you the ability to automatically transfer the files even when your computer is turned off. Your photos & videos are automatically transferred via a configured wireless network on your Eyefi card to the Eyefi servers. When your computer is turned back on and the Eyefi Software is running, it will contact the Eyefi Servers to download the staged media.

Endless Memory

You can enable Endless memory on your Eyefi Pro X2 Card in the Endless Memory tab of the Transfer Mode card settings panel. When you enable this feature on your Pro X2 card, you can choose the memory capacity at which your Pro X2 card will begin to remove media that has already been safely transferred. Endless Memory will only remove photos & videos that have been safely transferred once your Eyefi card is filled to the percentage setting you have set.

Note:If you use Selective Transfer, only photos that have been protected or locked and later transferred by your Eyefi card will be erased. Photos not yet transferred will be left on the card. Files in the PRIVATE folder are not deleted via Endless Memory. Endless Memory will only delete photos & videos when your Eyefi card is power-cycled, and may require multiple power cycles depending on the amount of media that needs to be erased.

Have more questions? Submit a request